1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email
Aaron Green

The Rake's Progress Opera Synopsis

By January 27, 2013

Follow me on:

One of the few 20th century operas in standard operatic repertory, Igor Stravinsky's The Rake's Progress is a three act opera loosely based on the famous eight paintings by William Hogarth, portraying the fall of man after being persuaded by the devil into a life of indulgence, decadence, and deceit.   Though the opera originally was set to 18th century London, you will find it performed in many different settings - the story holds true in almost any decade or century.  If you're not familiar with the opera, read the full synopsis of The Rake's Progress.


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.